Tamales!

Today is the perfect morning to make a new post. It is pretty disgusting outside, cloudy, quiet, humid. Lets see how long it takes me to get out of my dark room today..

Well, I am sad to say this but my camera has had a lot of problems recently. I finally got it working again! Heads up though, these pictures are taken with my cell phone… so they are not too entirely fantastic.

I know that it seems like every time I go somewhere I end up at the pearl brewery, but that is because they have so many cool events going on and it is the perfect bike ride! Yesterday was the annual Tamale Festival and boy did they have tamales. They had so much fiesta decorations up that I felt like I was at a huge outdoor mexican party, lets be real though… that is kind of what it was. Every inch of the pearl was crawling with people stuffing their faces with tamales. I am pretty sure I could accurately draw a tamale from memory with full detail at this point. There was over 50 tamale stands wrapping the grounds of the pearl. They also had the farmers market running late so I got some yummy chocolate mint iced coffee.

Here are a few pictures:

One thing I certainly have started to appreciate more is architecture. The pearl has some very cool architecture. It was planned to have an old warehouse look but remain modern.

Image

Image

 

 

 

 

Image

I especially love this picture above ^. This is one of the coolest hidden pieces at the pearl. It reminds me of my current final project for my sculpture class (pictures to come soon!)

There is also some residencies and shops at the pearl!

Image

Image

I found a very cool new shop at the pearl that just might be my favorite place ever. It is called Leighelena. After some research online I discovered that this is the designer for bracelets my sister sells at her work.

Image

Image

This is just a taste of some of the jewelry but this store also sells eclectic gifts, vintage clothing, art, and soooo much more. It really is a great place.

Image

Image

http://atpearl.com/retail/leighelena/

Well, now that finals are approaching and classes are ending I will either be incredibly busy or super bored. Hopefully I will finish my scarf before I go to Denver!

-More to come!

-Jacqueline-xxxx

Leave a comment

Filed under Jacque, Photography, SATX, SATX events, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

