Momentous living.

The title of this post seems like a cliche. And you know, it probably is.. But as Randy Pausch says, “cliches are cliches for a good reason..” Oddly enough this post is really about Randy Pausch.

I’m writing this post under the lime green glow of the lights on the megabus. Sitting next to a complete stranger, but wondering why I don’t feel like a stranger at all. Finally feeling a bit more comfortable in my own skin. I am leaving behind a very spontaneous weekend in Houston and heading back to good ole’ San Antone.
I feel like this post may be a bit unusual for me, these whole deep meaningful posts are usually from nadeen but I am feeling gladly inspired tonight. Inspired by a book.

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch.

If you have not heard of it I highly suggest, and pretty much demand that you go get it this week.

20130203-182923.jpg

It has become not only my favorite book. But a personal stack of pages I want to live by.
After Randy was diagnosed with terminal cancer at a young age with a recently growing family he decided that he has way too much knowledge that his kids will never get to grow up on. These life stories and lessons he leaves behind are great inspiration for not only his young children but for anyone looking to appreciate life just a bit more.

20130203-183257.jpg

This book, life guide, has really changed my tiny outlook on this huge universe. I, and most people I am in communication with, focus on our day to day life and the turmoil it brings us. We take it to heart and let it break us down like it will change our whole life. I’ve decided that this is no longer how it will be for me.
Everyday is special and it’s time to live in the moment.

My trip to Houston could be what brought this on. My reasons for my trip were family related. My grandmothers birthday party, and to visit my very elderly sick grandfather. Seeing family members in their sickly condition and watching them decline makes me want to thrive everyday I am still walking and breathing.
Friday was a bit lazy until I got to catch up with a friend I met this summer, Matt. (Hi). We went to get some drinks and to see a cover band. Way fun and I managed to snag one picture.

20130203-183905.jpg
Matt tells me these lights are new, I like them a lot.
Saturday morning we hit up the farmers market

20130203-184405.jpg

20130203-184415.jpg
The rest of the day was filled with sunshine and happiness. As everyday should be.
The rest of my weekend, filled with family as it should be.

20130203-184520.jpg
I love my sister.

I just want to put a few of my favorite quotes from The Last Lecture in here:

“Experience is what you get when you didn’t get what you wanted. And experience is often the most valuable thing you have to offer.”
― Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

“Look, I’m going to find a way to be happy, and I’d really love to be happy with you, but if I can’t be happy with you, then I’ll find a way to be happy without you.”
― Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

“Too many people go through life complaining about their problems. I’ve always believed that if you took one tenth the enrgy you put into complaining and applied it to solving the problem, you’d be surprised by how well things can work out.”
― Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

“educators best serve students by helping them be more self-reflective. The only way any of us can improve—as Coach Graham taught me—is if we develop a real ability to assess ourselves. If we can’t accurately do that, how can we tell if we’re getting better or worse?”

I hope you all feel inspired enough to grab a copy of this book, or of your own life.

—-Jacqueline

1 Comment

Filed under Jacque

One response to “Momentous living.

  1. A Mysterious Racecar Driver

    I’ve been living life the wrong way it seems. I’ll pick this up later this week. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

