28 days

I have been in Florence now for a month. 4 weeks as of last Wednesday and it has flown by. I have shared most of my important adventures with you and I hope that I can continue to share you with you in my remaining 3 months.

It has rained so much here and if you know me you know how much I love the sunshine and warm weather, so this has not been easy. I get out of class and want to just go cuddle in my bed, and I do. I originally felt bad about it, but it’s what I want to do in the lousy weather so why not just do what I want to do!
However, I have made some small goals to feel accomplished.

One: try a new pastry every Friday.
I have done this for three weeks now. Sadly I could not even tell you the names of them because they aren’t even listed anywhere, I use broken Italian to point and say ‘uno’, it works.

20140208-130833.jpg
This one is like a chocolate cookie roll with cream on the inside. It was good, not too sweet which I liked!

I regret not taking a photo of the one from this Friday because it was delicious, but it was like a flattened sweetened flakey break, like a croissant but with a glaze, then folded with some chocolate in the center. This one was a bit too sweet for me but Sydney and I really enjoyed sitting in the loft of the cute cafe!

20140208-131025.jpg

20140208-131046.jpg
I think my next endeavor will be a cannoli! Although that might be too much crema for my little tummy, good thing they have miniatures….

Along with dessert, I have had a lot of incredible food recently. When I first got here I was not that impressed. Obviously the food was good but it didn’t blow me away, especially for how much I was paying for it. I learned that the better food for the better price was out of the center of the city, so usually across the river.
The other night my housemates and I went to Osteria Santo Spirito. Go. You must.
They let you order small portions for a cheaper price, so you can order many things!
We got a bottle of wine to share and each ordered a small portion salad, which honestly was a big enough meal for me BUT I was on a mission. I came to this restaurant specifically for their formaggio (cheese) gnocchi with truffle oil. So I got a small portion of that, and boy was that a BIG small portion.

20140208-131500.jpg

OH BABY. Look at that baked cheese. I wish I could bring it all home with me.

Since my mind is clearly on food, I am excited to say that the chocolate festival has begun. For 9 days, artisan chocolates have booths providing you with ANYTHING chocolate you could crave. Did I mention it’s across the street from my house?!
A post will certainly come soon from that….

I am currently writing this post at “the American coffee shop” by my apartment. I know it’s totally lame to be doing this but when a girl needs a comforting soy chai and bagel…
It’s nice to be able to sit, sip, and relax.

Now here is a big photo dump:

20140208-131801.jpg
Aperitivo: €3 wine and all you can eat snacks.

20140208-131900.jpg
Boboli gardens from inside pitti palace. It was raining of course.

20140208-131938.jpg
FRANDS

20140208-132030.jpg

20140208-132047.jpg

20140208-132108.jpg

20140208-132133.jpg

20140208-132154.jpg

20140208-132206.jpg

My spring break is coming up! That means midterms are due and planning my trip. Easy-peasy.

It also means I have a visitor coming, and I CANNOT wait to share this beautiful city.

Leave a comment

Filed under Jacque, Under the Tuscan Sun

Leave a Reply

